Dynamic Learning Maps®

The Dynamic Learning Maps® (DLM®) Alternate Assessment System Consortium is made up of 17 state departments of education developing the Dynamic Learning Maps Alternate Assessment System, a computer-based assessment for the 1 percent of the K–12 public school student population with significant cognitive disabilities for whom, even with accommodations, general state assessments are not appropriate.

Led by the Center for Educational Testing and Evaluation at the University of Kansas, DLM is funded through a five-year grant awarded in late 2010 by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs. The assessment will be implemented during the 2014–2015 school year.

The DLM Consortium is one of two multistate consortia to receive federal grants to create a next-generation alternate assessment linked to Common Core State Standards in math and English language arts for the 1 percent population.

The 17 states in the DLM Consortium are: Alaska, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Visit Dynamic Learning Maps for more information.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
Connect with us online

KU Today